RI SLP of the Year for 2013…Drumroll please….

Congratulations to Mrs. Kathy Lake, SLP in the North Smithfield School Department for being named RISHA's 2013-2014 SLP of the Year!!!!  Kathy has worked as a SLP for 36 years. She has worked in a variety of settings throughout her career.  As someone who nominated Kathy said, “In whatever setting Kathy has worked, she has demonstrated leadership skills and the highest quality of clinical skills. Her peers look to her for guidance and support which she gives willingly and without recompense. …She has been a member of RISHA and ASHA since she received her master's degree and has served on RISHA's Executive Board for over 20 years serving through the years as Recording Secretary, Corresponding Secretary, Membership Chair, CE Administrator…Kathy is an unsung hero of our profession and deserves to be recognized for her contribution to the field and as a public school speech/language pathologist.”




We have a Winner!!!


Congratulations to 2013 Scholarship winner Ms. Kristen Troy from URI!!!

Kristen is a first year graduate student in Communication Disorders. She is from Franklin MA. Kristen attended the RISHA luncheon with her mom at the Crowne Plaza on March 23 rd .

RISHA Annual Awards

RISHA awarded 4 certificates to members to recognize their efforts on behalf of the RI Speech-Language-Hearing Association. The members were recognized during the annual meeting at the conference on March 23, 2013 at the Crowne Plaza in Warwick. Awards will be made annually to members chosen for recognition in the areas of ; schools, private practice, medical and other service to the association.

The following individuals received awards for 2013.


Gail Robinson received an award for her long-term service as Conference Chairperson. Gail will be stepping down as chairperson but will continue to help make our annual conference a success. Thank you Gail! CBS Therapy received a private practice award for their ongoing generosity to RISHA. CBS has supported the scholarship fund with donations, a benefit conference. Mike Smith and Peter Erklauer have also donated their time to host executive board and annual meetings and serve as executive board members. Mike Smith will be stepping down as Scholarship Chairperson to spend more time on his company business and with his growing young family. Thank you to Mike and Peter.


Jessica Kaloustian received an award for her contribution to the association in reviving our Medical Facilities Committee. Jessica helped select medical speakers at past conferences and link the board to other professionals serving in RI medical facilities. Thank you Jessica!